Kiss Me In Paris – Catherine Rider

Kiss Me In Paris

Author: Catherine Rider
Series: Kiss Me #2
Genre: YA, Contemporary Romance
Publisher: Kids Can Press
Published: September 2018

I was lucky enough to receive an arc from netgalley in exchange for an honest review.

This book is a super light and easy read about two teens falling in love in Paris. We follow our main character Serena, who is on a mission to visit all of the places her parents did on their honeymoon to make a scrap book for her mother. Ever since her dad died, she has been desperately trying to find a way of connecting with him again, and this is the perfect opportunity. The only problem is, her sister completely forgot about the trip, and now Serena is stuck in Paris, with her sister’s, boyfriends best friend to be her guide. He may be super cute, but Serena has a very tight schedule and doesn’t need a guide to disrupt her plans!

Jean-Luc has been trying to find inspiration for his final photography project but nothing is working, and he only has a few days left to turn something in! He needs to focus, and he definitely doesn’t want to be babysitting the annoying American girl around Paris…even if she is extremely beautiful!

What follows next over the course of a day is a cute love story between the pair which is fun, sometimes frustrating and a sweet journey across Paris between two teens trying to hide their feelings for one another.

I thought this book was okay. I didn’t exactly hate it, but I didn’t love it either. The premise of the book sounded good, hence why I requested a copy, but it took me quite a while to actually get into the story once I finally started reading it.

I found the book to be way too short for the amount of information that was packed in. The whole story supposedly took place over one or two days? Yet we had two characters travel across Paris, get to know each other, fight, see all the main sights, fall in love, have a second love interest in a weird love triangle, an ex-girlfriend, a scrap book and a photography project thrown in the mix.

What I did enjoy about this book is how it was written in a dual point of view, which meant as well as finding out more about our main character Serena, we also got to know Jean-Luc better. I didn’t particularly warm to Serena, but I liked Jean-Luc as a love interest!

I think if I read this book when I was back in seconary school, I probably would have enjoyed it more. I have nothing against the book, it’s all super fun and cute, just not particularly swoon-worthy! I rate this book two out of five stars, but would definitely recommend this to a younger YA audience.

 

Leave a comment